Ninja's Place
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

[ A forum dedicated to hardcore combat sports fans. ]

Home PageHome Page  HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

I need some advice.

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage

I need some advice. Empty
PostSubject: I need some advice.   I need some advice. EmptyMon Oct 04, 2010 9:58 am

Ok I am going to a funeral of a students today. His mom is a fellow teacher and a friend and his dad is my preacher. What in the hell do I say to them? I am not good with this stuff (well who the hell really is). Thanks for all the input in advance.
Back to top Go down
Wolfgangsta
Platinum Belt
Platinum Belt
Wolfgangsta

Favorite Fighter(s) : Conor McGregor, Machida, Jon Jones, Ronda Rousey

PostSubject: Re: I need some advice.   I need some advice. EmptyMon Oct 04, 2010 10:01 am

If they look like they're there out of formality and really are having an unpleasant time

"I am sorry about your loss"

Look at the ground.

Wait to be excused.

But if you get a legitimate vibe that they're in a mental state to be comforted, share a funny or touching story with them on the loved one, something you always respected about them, with out patronizing.

Back to top Go down
http://www.listentothis.org/images/fedoriishi.gif

PostSubject: Re: I need some advice.   I need some advice. EmptyMon Oct 04, 2010 10:04 am

Keep it simple. Just say I'm sorry for your loss. He will always be remembered and forever missed.
Back to top Go down
hardcoreBEE24
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Favorite Fighter(s) : Thomas Hearns

PostSubject: Re: I need some advice.   I need some advice. EmptyMon Oct 04, 2010 10:26 am

My deepest condonances to you and your family.

You sound close to the family. Give the mother a hug and a handshake to the father. If he too goes in for the hug him back.

Stay for the entire wake/funeral and sign the book.
Back to top Go down