Ninja's Place
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

[ A forum dedicated to hardcore combat sports fans. ]

Home PageHome Page  HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

MMA Union revisited

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
LTFG
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
LTFG

Favorite Fighter(s) : Wolfy

MMA Union revisited Empty
PostSubject: MMA Union revisited   MMA Union revisited EmptyFri Jun 04, 2010 4:35 pm

I remember us having some fairly indepth conversations about a fighters union back in the day on the ESPN board. Being a private business owner, I think it's pretty easy to see why I'm against unions. They have had their time and the way the government controls businesses today, the employees have about 99% of the rights. Reading through this article, I agree with pretty much everything Lorenzo and Lindland have to say. The chances of a union being created in such an individualized sport are pretty slim...

http://mmajunkie.com/news/19410/ufc-exec-lorenzo-fertitta-on-potential-fighters-union-thats-up-to-them.mma
Back to top Go down
ohiovol62
Purple Belt
Purple Belt
ohiovol62

Favorite Fighter(s) : Sakuraba, Fedor, GSP, and Big Nog

PostSubject: Re: MMA Union revisited   MMA Union revisited EmptyFri Jun 04, 2010 4:46 pm

Well I think the statement that employees have 99% of the rights, can hardly be considered rational thought. Why then are there all these layoffs then if owners have only 1% of the power?

However, I will concede that unions have outlived their purpose. Factories don't slave drive their employees 12 hour days 7 days a week and 4 year olds arn't aloud to work anymore so the idea of unions being needed today is out of sheer greed.

Unions arn't needed MMA so long as there is an option for fighters to move to competitive organizations if its in their best interest. Capitolism only survives through competition.