Ninja's Place
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

[ A forum dedicated to hardcore combat sports fans. ]

Home PageHome Page  HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Kenny Florian moving to FW, eyes summer return

Go down 
+5
Andrew the Raider King
Ludo
MMAEYES
killerofchicken
OU
9 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
OU
Administrator
Administrator
OU

Favorite Fighter(s) : Diaz Bros, Wandy, Ace, Hendo, JDS, Lima Bros,Uncle Creepy, long live Iceman

Kenny Florian moving to FW, eyes summer return Empty
PostSubject: Kenny Florian moving to FW, eyes summer return   Kenny Florian moving to FW, eyes summer return EmptyTue Feb 08, 2011 9:25 am

http://www.mmamania.com/2011/2/8/1981719/kenny-florian-moving-down-to-featherweight-targeting-summer-return
"KenFlo" broke the news to ESPN:

Quote :
"I started playing around with the idea: could I make 145? Originally, I didn't think it was possible. I spoke with a few nutritionists, got their opinions, told them what my body fat was, my walking-around weight, all that stuff and the general consensus was that it was very possible. I put a lot of thought into it, spoke with my coaches and everybody involved and decided that I am going to try it. I'm going to go for it."
"Like Dana White, I like to make big fights. And a fight with Aldo has been sticking in the back of my head since the UFC asked us for it. If there is a way to make it happen, I want to. If it looks like the only way that fight can happen is if Kenny moves down to 145, that's what we're going to do. ... He's not going to get a title shot at 145 directly. We're asking for a top guy, and then maybe after one or two more fights, he can get a title shot. He should be ready to make his 145-pound debut in June or July. He has been cleared to start training this week."

Last edited by OU on Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:09 am; edited 1 time in total